We are almost through with the 1st trimester.
What has been really important to you that we have done in class?
How have you grown so far in room 217? (I dont mean length!)
Tia
10/26/2011 08:18:48 am

Something that was important to me this year was definately Balarat. Balarat taught me a lot! I learned how to tell trees, plants, cones, and tracks apart from other trees, plants, cones, and tracks. I also learned how to use a compass. I liked the night hike the most of all the activites we did. I even got to see an antler and a deer pelvis!
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
I have grown a lot this year in writing. Writing is my hardest subject, but Mrs. Garofoli taught me a lot about using more figurative language such as similes, metaphores, personification, etc. which I noticed made my writing a lot stronger then how it was when I first entered 5th grade.
<><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><><>
Overall, this 1st trimester is going really well. I'm so excited to see how the 2nd trimester goes!

Reply
Ethan
10/29/2011 07:49:28 am

Balarat was a really important experience to me among things we have done so far this year. Balarat was fun yet it taught me to tell plants and animals tracks from other plants and animals tracks. It also taught me how to use a compass to complete a list of questions on my own and to conquer my fear of heights on the Big Swing.
_______________________________________________________
I think that I have grown this year a lot in math because Ms. Garofoli taught me how to slow down in thinking because if I think too fast I will mess up. Although math is one of my stronger subjects, Ms. Garofoli taught me how to make my own variable problems. I also think that when she makes us do 6th grade math instead of 5th grade math it really challenges me to work and think even harder. I like the way the first trimester is going and I like how Ms. Garofoli is teaching.

Reply
Omar
11/1/2011 11:24:00 pm

I have grown in math because on my first test I had about 65%. Now it is 99%. Ms. Garofoli really chalenges us in math. Keep up the good work Ms. Garofoli!

Reply
|_u|&lt;@$
11/2/2011 06:56:38 am

I think Balarat was an important and fun learning experience. I think it was fun because I got to stay overnight, eat, and do challenges with my friends. I think it was important because I did several things (like the ropes course) that I probably wouldn't have done. This is important to me because I thought several of those experiences were amazingly fun.

(As a side note, I also think my writing has improved in Ms. Garofoli's class.

Reply
claire
11/2/2011 07:05:10 am

i love how i have grown in my writing! i think its important that i stick with my writing and keep doing a great job!

Reply
Jake :P
11/2/2011 07:21:46 am

I think that the most important thing that i did over the 1st tri, was Balarat. there i had the longest field trip ever and conquered my fear of hights. ms Garofoli has help me with my writing a lot!

Reply
Diego
11/2/2011 08:07:02 am

I think I have gotten much better in writing because I looked at my first writing prompt and I was amazed to see how much progess I have gained since I have gotten in Ms. Garofoli's class! She is an amazing teacher!!!

Reply
r@f@3| RAFAEL
11/2/2011 08:24:28 am

AR was my favorite thing this trimester. But I think that I have grown the most in writing. When I was younger I did poorly in writing. But now I am doing much better at writing.


:):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

Reply
Sam
11/2/2011 08:24:40 am

I think that the most important thing that I did in the first trimester was going to Balarat. It helped me learn a little bit about animal tracks and plant life. I think I have grown in writing to prompts.

Reply
c0/3
11/2/2011 08:38:57 am

I think I have grown the most in writing because in 4rth grade we weren't writing very well. Now, I get 2's when in 4rth grade I would've gotten a 4+.Also Balarat helped me learn a bit more about wildlife(even though my mom is a nature nerd).

Reply
11/2/2011 08:50:50 am

I think the most important thing to me this trimester was science and how much I learned, I learned all about the human body and how it works.one thing that I think I have grown on is probably my reading, I think it is great,and I love the new websites we created.(p.s I have grown one inch since summer).

Reply
Leia
11/2/2011 09:01:54 am

I think that one of the most important events that happened this trimester is going to Balarat. I was able to see lots of nature and learn about it. Then, I think I grew in writing. My writing comes to me more quickly then it used to.

Reply
Danny
11/2/2011 09:50:24 am

One thing I valued this trimester was balarat.I deffinately"came out of my comfort zone" and tried things I never thought I'd try such as the big swing,and the night hike. Also I was jubulent to be able to hang out with friends and classmates and hike,climb,and talk.

I think that I grew alot since the beggining of this year.I improved in writing more detailed stories and my AR reading score went up by a few.I also made friends with new people and read new books.

Reply
unown
12/21/2011 11:16:21 am

Reply
Unown
12/21/2011 11:17:24 am

Dann y i have alwaysloved u

Reply
Jared
11/2/2011 10:22:38 am

I think I've grown most in reading by finally finishing the harry potter series and I've grown in math learning algebra and division

Reply
11/2/2011 10:39:01 am

Balaret was very importain to me. I learned how to idenify trees and plants. I also faced many fears while I was there!
^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
I have improved in writing a lot thanks to Mrs.arofoli's lessons and Writing Alive. I have improved on preasonal naritives and I learned many new vocabulary words!

Reply
Paloma
11/3/2011 07:46:24 am

One thing this trimester that I really liked was Balarat. I loved how we all got to hang out as a class and get away from all that paper and just enjoy nature together. I think Balarat was a valuable experience for me because I would definitely regret it if I had not gone. I wish we could have stayed longer.
****************************************
I think I have really grown this trimester in writing. I look back at previous pieces of writing and I don't think I did as well. I turned from a 3 to a 4 during this time, and I think Mrs. Garofoli helps out a lot with it.

<3 Paloma

Reply
@!e&gt;&lt; BP
11/3/2011 09:14:20 am

I have grown a lot in math. At the start of the year I didn't know long division but now I know how to! thanks ms garofoli!



not to sam... gaintt block of swiss cheese!!!

Reply
@!e&gt;&lt; BP
11/3/2011 09:15:03 am

also about 1 ft

Reply
@!e&gt;&lt; BP
11/3/2011 09:16:32 am

awww... two typos its acttualy note not not and giant

Reply
Dori@n
11/3/2011 11:40:24 am

I am feeling not so great about advancing in math or writing. reading is fine but i am not the most agreeable with them. theymake a decision without any opinion of mine, i really hope to fix that. math is not "sensible" to me. writing i can asses but i have problems with putting it on paper. also ms.garofoli always makes me feel like a mere annoyance. i am constantly working alone because people try to avoid my company and i feel excluded from most group things. i do not prefur this hostile environment i am learning in, but i am coping with the classmates i "adore" so much. thank you for your time on reading this.

Reply
M31!n@
11/3/2011 12:12:51 pm

I thought it was important that we read alot because last year, AR wasn't as competitive.

Reply
Paloma
11/7/2011 07:30:00 am

But AR isn't supposed to be competitive...

Reply



Leave a Reply.